PDA

View Full Version : Thrilled yet horrified...

KarenU
04-14-2002, 11:50 PM
Well...even though my day job of programming pays my bills, I've always considered myself an artist and would love to have spent my entire life in pursuit of that career, unfortunately, I never felt that I was good enough to give that a try. All of the artistic work that I've completed in the past has been given away as gifts to friends and family.

So I'm down at the local coffee shop (Starbucks) and I notice that this particular Starbucks has paintings hanging from a local artist. So....being the inquisitive person that I am, I say to the fellow making my coffee....."What's up with the art on the walls?", "Didn't think you folks did that kind of thing". Well he goes on to say that "Yes, we like to feature art of local artists." Unfortunately, I couldn't keep my mouth shut and I said "Well...I'm an artist and I'd like to hang some of my paintings here." (Where did that come from, I'm thinking as the words come out of my mouth!!)

To make a long story short, the fellow that was making my coffee was the owner of this particular Starbucks. The next day I was over showing him some of my work and it appears that for the month of May, I will be the featured local artist.

I am going to hang 7 or 8 paintings, and as my subject line stated, I'm thrilled and yet horrified at the same time. This will be a first for me (not the thrilled and horrified part) but the public exhibition of my art. Yikes!

My other two posts that included attachments are paintings that I'm going to include, along with this current attachement. Anyone that has experience doing this type of thing...I would be grateful for any and all advice on anything that I need to know and/or do or be aware of.

Thanks in advance for any of your input!!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/14-Apr-2002/Denizens.jpg

Karen

CathyD
04-15-2002, 04:19 AM