PDA

View Full Version : Calling photo experts, Help! Needing Advice

AHA
01-18-2007, 04:53 PM
Hello,
I'm an oil painter, usually over in plein air, (just a click above this forum.) I have a project that I'm working on and would love to get some advice:
I have done a series of drawings. I would like to photograph them, digitally before I frame them. What I would like to do eventually is use my digital images for a you-tube presentation. I have never done a you-tube project, so I would like to know what what format, size and resolution would you recommend that would be the most flexible for future use?

The tools I have to use right now are a flatbed scanner and a regular nothing fancy Sony digital camera. I appreciate any advice you could give me....I would like to photo everything before I frame under glass. Thank you in advance, Annie Adams

Kallistos
01-19-2007, 04:43 AM
How big are the paintings?

If they're small enough I should think scanning might give you a good result, although it may reflect off the paint. Best thing is to try it and see.

If you want to photograph them, do it outside on an overcast day with the flash turned off. That way you get nice even light that will show the colours in their truest form.get as close as you can to the painting while leaving a small border around it, then crop the border out in a photo editing programme. Also, make sure you're standing face on to the painting, not on an angle otherwise it will look distorted.

Always photograph in the highest resolution, you can always compress the file after.

I don't know about youtube. I assume you just build the presentation in a video editing suite of programmes and then export as a web sized clip.

Windy
01-19-2007, 05:59 AM
The only thing I would add to that is photograph with the least amount of compression too, this will keep as much detail as possible (you could do prints later too then) I also know nothing about you-tube.

Oldthumbs
01-19-2007, 08:55 AM