PDA

View Full Version : Self Portrait -I may regret this

Garbonzo
01-17-2007, 08:29 PM
I've never done people before on scratchboard so I've got mixed feelings about this. It's 8x10 black ampersand. I wish I had a better feel for this stuff but I had to give it a try.:o http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Jan-2007/92796-Scratch_Harold.jpg

Trilby
01-17-2007, 08:43 PM
You know, Harold, yu just have a natural affinity for scratchart and it for you. This is excellent. It has strength, shows personality and I like the rougher texture of the spacing of your cross hatching. I am wondering if your experience with carving which is also a subtractive process aids you at all in the scratch work? The only suggestion I would have is to brighten the highlights on the face on the left side of the painting to match the lighting on the shirt and to add the smallest glint of a catch light in the eyes. BTW ---handsome fellow :)
TJ

Garbonzo
01-17-2007, 09:07 PM
Thankyou TJ, I think I still rely on my drawing skills, as they are, too much, I try to imitate some of the things I see on the forum here but I haven't been able to get that soft touch with the tonal value. I don't know if it's the carving background or what but I do enjoy the challenge of scratching. I wil try your suggestions.

Dave Slaughter
01-17-2007, 11:53 PM
It looks great to me.

ValorieCox
01-18-2007, 12:32 AM
Beautiful work Harold, you should be very proud of this piece! I think it's always harder when it's a self portrait to view it objectively. I hope to see some others when you finish. Val

CreativeHal
01-18-2007, 12:42 AM
Hey Harold, WOW. As Tony the tiger would say - "That's G-R-E-A-T." What the heck do you mean by, "I've got mixed feelings about this?" You should hold it up high and brag. I wish I could work with that technique. Beautiful job Harold.

Hal

Bertoni
01-18-2007, 01:42 AM
Harold:
You've done a dynamite job with the portrait.:clap: :clap: :clap: