PDA

View Full Version : Pour The Wine

Pogo
01-16-2007, 02:53 PM
I originally posted this in the wrong forum, so am reposting. This is my first attempt at scratchboard, since I started making art about 5 years ago. I usually paint--watercolor or acrylic. It was fun to do, but pretty slow going. I'm so impressed with the scratchboard I've seen others do on this website. Pogo
:cat:

Garbonzo
01-16-2007, 09:09 PM
Great job Pogo. I especially like the wine flowing into the glass. Pretty cool. It's easy to get hooked on scratching. Take my word for it.

Obedec
01-16-2007, 09:31 PM
I like the clarity of this piece...great job.
Karen

Bertoni
01-16-2007, 09:53 PM
Nice work Pogo!!:clap:
What kind of board is it done on? Claybord or Essdee?

Pogo
01-16-2007, 11:19 PM
When I see the work of real scratchboard artists, I realize I have a long way to go! Thanks for the kind words, tho. To Bertoni: I just did this on cheap scratchboard paper. I just bought a large piece and cut out the 5x7 size I used for this piece. Guess I'm not ready for the big time yet! Pogo

Bertoni
01-17-2007, 02:58 AM
Pogo:
Cheaper board works too!!! You're ready:thumbsup:

Trilby
01-17-2007, 11:31 AM
This is a great first effort in scratching! The glass is done believably and I too like the swirl of the wine coming down the side of the wine glass. My only suggestion would be to ground the objects, perhaps a bit of reflection where a shadow would normally go.
TJ

Diana Lee
01-17-2007, 11:58 AM
I think you have done a great job here. I would suggest that you start using the higher quality boards. The higher quality boards perform better and you don't want to find yourself with a beautiful work of art that will crackle in ten or fifteen years. If you can't find some locally check Dick Blick, the good boards are not that expensive. Keep scratching!

Diana

Pogo
01-17-2007, 02:26 PM