PDA

View Full Version : Basic 102 - Class 9 - Skies & Clouds

DianeWright
01-11-2007, 12:49 AM
When Jay D asked me to instruct a landscape class here at Wetcanvas, I was excited for the opportunity. Over the past few years, I have visited here many times to use the Drawing 101 Classes and I am honored to contribute to them!

WHO AM I? An Introduction

For those of you who many not be familiar with me or my work – I am Diane Wright. In 2002, I picked up my art pencil again after 20+ years. I have a Bachelor of Fine Art degree from the University of Northern Iowa. During this break, I devoted my time to my family and building a career. My children are now grown and it's now time for me to explore my arts again!! I live with my husband, Les, in the small town of Mitchellville, Iowa.

I work full time as an IT Manager and have a part-time art business. I keep busy doing commissions, selling artwork on my website www.dianewrightfineart.com, providing printing services for graphite artists and creating on-line tutorials. I am also looking into conducting local drawing workshops this summer.

This past year I was contracted by Walter Foster Publishing company to write a drawing instruction book. It is a tremendous opportunity that has been a great experience. The book is scheduled to be released in June 2007.

But that is enough about me!

Let's talk about drawing landscapes....

DianeWright
01-11-2007, 12:53 AM
Drawing Landscapes in Pencil??

Why would anyone want to draw landscapes in pencil? Aren’t they boring in black & white? My answer to that is an emphatic “ABSOLUTELY NOT!” The subject matter is endless and black & white imagery has a timeless quality to it. Landscapes can be just as dramatic as any other subject matter. Adding elements of atmosphere or dramatic weather conditions can add even more to them.

FIELD TRIP – A Trip through History in Landscape Artwork