PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie... advice needed

Turner
04-09-2002, 10:34 AM
I've done this study in photoshop... it's basically a filtered version of a photo of cranberry bogs near my home.

I'd like to execute this in acrylics.. but don't know where to start! (except the sketching part, of course... even that... well, I don't know.)

Some questions:

How to handle the sky blend? Lately, for some reason, I'm thinking that if the brushwork of the sky doesn't "match" the brushwork of the landforms, the painting will look too inconsistent.

Recommendations needed - basic palette! I don't know which ones to purchase to get this tonal range. I have a "starter set" but am unfamiliar with mixing.. ( accurately ;) ) and realize I may be able to get away with four or five tubes plus maybe red.. not sure.

How should I layer my forms/colors? I'm inclined to work "far to near", in other words, sky, then distant trees, then near trees, then far object plane, then mid field, then close...

Ok.. maybe a really dumb question... almost definitely! :) ...

I'd like to do small studies (5 x 7 or so) but then move up gradually to 3 x 4 feet. I realize I'll need different brushes, if only larger sizes of the same types of brushes I use for the studies..

So any recommendations? Through playing around with different brushes I have, I know some work better for some types of brushwork - obviously - but I'm not sure whether I should try to stick with a single, prominent brush type such as a filbert, or if I would get better results by using a different brush for underpainting, or broad details.

Whoo! Probably more questions later. If I could paint like what I can easily produce in Photoshop... I'll tell ya...

Thanks!

Andrew

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-Apr-2002/cranberry.jpg

cmorrow05
04-09-2002, 01:47 PM