PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ?: How much time on you sketch?

CathyD
04-07-2002, 08:55 PM
When I painted my first painting in acrylic, I did quite a detailed drawing. Then when I started painting it, I began to lose my detail! In watercolor everything is transparent enough that you still see the lines. I tried to keep my drawing details as much as I could but the nature of acrylics being what they are covered alot up despite my effort.

Tell me what you do? Do you not spend much time on detail - just do a quick sketch, or are you very careful as you apply the paint on your detailed drawing? Just curious what other artistfolk do!

Thanks,
Cathy

DanaT
04-07-2002, 09:05 PM
Right now, since my watercolor teacher won't let us use a pencil, I'm not doing any preliminary sketching at all!

But before that, it would vary. I'd do a detailed sketch if there was something about my subject that I'd need to work out but I'd found that type of sketching is better done as a separate work. Most of the time, though, I would just block the major shapes in.

luci
04-09-2002, 11:16 PM
Cathy,

You are right... you will lose the drawing very quickly. Usually I just do a very simple sketch to get proportions and large shapes correct at the beginning. However, if you know you will need a lot of detail, I would suggest doing your drawing on another piece of paper, then transferring the broad shapes to the canvas using graphite paper or something similar. After you paint the first layer, you can go back later and re-establish your drawing as many times as you want.

Caron
04-09-2002, 11:46 PM