PDA

View Full Version : What is the most important thing about....

roachford
12-10-2006, 02:00 PM
......being a practicing artist???

I am approaching the end of my first semester of my art degree and have to sat that I feel I have made a thousand miles worth of progress in my approach to creating and how I think about my practice (in relation to context, meaning, reflection and self critique). However as a slightly older student (31), I dont just want to graduate with a good degree and simply be happy with that. I want to take as much as I possibly can from my time at college and emerge as a more rounded, informed, forward thinking and altogether better artist than I am right now.

I was hoping that there may be some of you out there that might have some words of guidence for someone in my position who is looking to really push their development as an artist, both theoretically and practically.

Cheers

bottleman
12-11-2006, 03:47 AM
As a former student, I would say one of the most important things to do is to ask your studio art teachers questions; engage them in one on one conversation. This should not be limited to topics relating to your works. Discuss art history, theory, craft, and so on. Teachers are of course people, and like many people, will respond to someone who takes a genuine interest in their knowledge. Your time in art school will be tiny in comparison to the time you will spend working and developing on your own afterwards. Take advantage of the experienced people while you are there.

Regarding your age, I was given two numbers by former teachers: no one takes you seriously as an artist until you are at least 32, and the first 1000 paintings are only practice. Subjective numbers of course, but an indication of the time and effort it will take.

Axl
12-11-2006, 11:57 AM