PDA

View Full Version : A couple of my first digital paintings....

dreamingtree
12-10-2006, 03:13 AM
Hey I thought I would just put these up so people could see it. I am an Illustration major, and I am just getting into digital art. I have been painting and drawing for quite some time now, but these are some of my first explorations with digital media. The first is a digital painting of a young boy. No one that I know, but just found a cool photo to work from. Had a lot of fun with it. I used Photoshop and my new wacom tablet.

The next one is part digital painting, I painted the girl's face and arm, and the rest is just messing around with textures in Photoshop. I still like how it came out and the feel of it though.

The third is a painting I did a very buff guy from a page out of my sketchbook. Fun pose, although I really think I need to go in and create some hard edges in just a few key places to make it work better. Right now I think the feel of it is just too soft. This was also done in Photoshop.

All I have to say is that I am definitely hooked on digital painting now. It is fun to be here and see what everyone is doing and take inspiration from it. Anyways, Let me know what you guys think.
Dave

Ceu
12-10-2006, 04:45 AM
Dave I have an ilustration major, but I have been doing digital images for a long time, and it's fun the hard part is to put what you do in the computer into a canvas or other hard surface. But either way have fun doing this, your work so far is great, and keep the ideas coming .

omniartz
12-11-2006, 02:28 PM
Dave, these are very good. Welcome to digital! :)

justjean
12-11-2006, 05:20 PM
Hi Dave and welcome to WC , nice paintings :)

dreamingtree
12-13-2006, 11:46 PM
Thanks for the comments. Glad to be here.

JTGMTZ
12-14-2006, 12:52 PM
I especially like the boy. The softness of the edges are terrific. I love the way you handled his lips.

madster
12-15-2006, 07:56 AM
Welcome, Dave!