PDA

View Full Version : Brands Of Oil Paint?

Sadgylee
04-04-2002, 06:44 PM
I am currantly using Winsor & Newton Artisan water soluable oils.
I am not that happy with them. I want to go back to the regular
oils. Could you tell me what brand you think is best? What you use?? I don't want to get studio oils, yet I don't need the most expensive either :). Your help will be appreciated. I have a
Dick Blick sales catalog and would like to place an order..but
there are sooooo many to choose from? HELP!!! LOL

Todd March
04-04-2002, 09:11 PM
Hi SadgyLee,

I too am researching which brands of oils to work with (my background is in watercolors, pastels and egg tempera), and found many interesting previous threads around here at WC which can tell you what many of the knowlegable WC oil forum regulars think of many brands of oil paints...

The search feature (button) at the top right hand side of this very page you are reading now will take you to the WC search page; I did searches on indvidual brands and also generic searches such as "brands of oils". I would also recommend refining your search to only the oil painting forum, or the oil forum hall of fame...

Be prepared for a deluge of information though! I spent almost 5 hours (!) reading through and getting everyone's opinions... Extremely helpful information that I am so thankful for...