PDA

View Full Version : Frozen Propane?

shelley3
11-29-2006, 05:18 PM
This is my first time posting - so Hi to everyone. It's in the 20's here, with about a foot of snow (very unusual for western Washington), and I just went out to my cold cold garage to make some beads, but my propane tank won't fire up. Does anyone know if propane will freeze? I didn't think gasses did, but what do I know? I've never had this trouble before.

Thanks!
Shelley

baroness
11-29-2006, 06:41 PM
No, propane is used in below-zero temps. Maybe you are out of gas?

skookum
11-29-2006, 07:07 PM
Yes your tank sure will freeze. Your tank may be full, but if it's cold outside it will not allow the propane to flow. To give you an idea: a 100 lb propane tank will not even keep a pilot light lit in freezing temperatures.

Propane is used in below zero temperatures, but the tank must be heated (or kept warm) in order for the propane to flow.
What you need is a tank heater and they are available at stores like Home Depot. Look for a tank heater that is equipped with a thermostat that will shut off when it reaches a certain temperature.

Thermometer outside this morning was -30 with -40 windchill factor.
Good luck,
Sherri

shelley3
11-29-2006, 07:39 PM
Thanks for the info as my tank is definitely full.

Shelley

mckenzieglassworks
11-29-2006, 08:33 PM
I would be very interested to hear what you learn on this. Did the register freeze?

mckenzieglassworks
11-29-2006, 08:34 PM
:o oops. I meant regulator.

Padre
11-29-2006, 08:46 PM
...I just went out to my cold cold garage to make some beads, but my propane tank won't fire up. Does anyone know if propane will freeze? I didn't think gasses did, but what do I know? I've never had this trouble before.

Thanks!
Shelley

Welcome Shelley.

The freezing point for propane is -310 degrees Farenheit. I'ts unlikely you will get that cold:) .