PDA

View Full Version : The AAU Online Support Thread

nicanfhilidh
11-28-2006, 09:44 AM
In other threads there was support for a thread specifically for those in Academy of Art University's online degree programs. Since barring disaster I will be starting in January, I thought I'd start! :cool:

I think we could start with a couple of topics:

1) Tell us about about yourself - your background, what degree you're going for, and what you hope to get out of it.

2) If you're a current or former AAU online student, tell us about what to expect - what was a surprise, where the potential pitfalls are, the best things about studying art online, etc.

So, me:
1) I'm 40 and mother to a 10-month-old son. I have a BFA in interdisciplinary studies and my concentration was a mixture of painting and computer art. I worked as a graphic designer for about a decade before quitting to have this child and to work on fine art as a career. I hope to eventually establish a career as a gallery artist, and also perhaps to teach later down the line.

kimeart
11-28-2006, 06:15 PM
I just wanted to check in and acknowledge your thread. My class workload for the current schedule is very demanding at the moment so I can only say hello for now.
Enrolled in the Bachelor of Fine Arts – Painting and Drawing Online program – third year.

zheni
11-29-2006, 02:29 PM
Hi again!

I am also just starting out at AAU (MFA - Figure Painting), so I'll be curious to read any input from those out there with experience. Lurkers, time to join up! :wave:

I am 43, was a history major and had a government job, but went back into painting and sculpture about six years ago, and took a lot of classes and workshops. I hope to be a portait painter, and I like to be a little on the contemportary side. When I can, I'll put some of my work up, but my computer skills are a bit limited just yet. :o

dreamingtree
11-29-2006, 07:19 PM
My name is David,