PDA

View Full Version : Woodcut Demo

Gisela
04-04-2002, 02:30 AM
I thought I'd put together a woodcut step-by-step lesson. I'm hoping that some folks might like to try this method of printmaking. There just aren't enough of us! :D
I'm no expert, but I'll show you the way I do it and hopefully, it'll give you the basics. Printmaking is pretty flexible and there are a lot of different ways to do things -- experiment -- be free -- have fun...! :D

Gisela

Gisela
04-04-2002, 02:40 AM
Top row from left to right ;
Japanese knife -- Large C gouge -- Small C gouge -- Raked V gouge -- Fish-tailed straight chisel
Bottom; Swivel knife (made for leather working)

Gisela
04-04-2002, 03:00 AM
Gouges and knives need to be kept sharp. Dull gouges get stuck and dull knives slip easily. Don't want anybody getting hurt!

To keep your tools in good working order, you'll need sharpening stones and sharpening oil. The large stone in the picture is coarse on one side and fine on the other. The small stone is called a slip stone. The shape makes it easy to sharpen the inside edge of gouges. Be sure and use the oil -- it 'floats' the little tiny particles of metal that come off in the sharpening process and keeps them from nicking the blade.

Gisela
04-04-2002, 03:20 AM
Now that your tools are in good working order -- try 'em out! I like pine, but you can also use poplar, birch, pear and cherry. Cherry is most used by Japanese woodcutters in the Ukiyo-e tradition -- it works well for very fine lines and can make many, many prints. Here's some examples of this beautiful style;

http://www.cjn.or.jp/ukiyo-e/arts-index.html

These are all fine for carving woodcuts. Pine, poplar, and birch are available at any lumberyard. Pear and cherry are considered specialty wood and are hard to get in the US. I've read that pear is easy to come by in Europe. The best cherry still comes from Japan.