PDA

View Full Version : Advise Clay for Children & which ones??

Pilan
11-27-2006, 12:38 PM
Hi all, I am trying to figure out what clay to get my granddaughter.

I have found a kit with plasticine clay but think she would enjoy the polymer and push molds as well or better.

also, I have not idea what the difference in polymer, fimo and kato clay.

Can someone please advise me. My granddaughter is 12 and does a lot of sketching of manga and those kinds of characters. She is a very good sketch artist but she loves fairies too.

Thank you

beautifulfreak
11-27-2006, 01:58 PM
Polymer is likely a good start for your granddaughter. It is baked in an oven to harden it. I've seen some fantastic fairies made out of it. I've seen a wing push mold in the store for angel and fairy wings.

I'm sure someone else will come along and answer your questions on polymer, I've only made a few beads with it so I'm not an expert.

MsLilypond
11-27-2006, 02:51 PM
fimo and kato (& sculpey III) are all colored polymer clays.
Sculpey is probably the softest of the bunch and easiest for a beginner to use, it's best for sculptures that aren't too delicate. It's also one of the cheaper brands..

Also it is an oven bake clay, so the sculptures can be made permanent. I don't know if that should be taken into consideration or not, some people let their 12 yrs. old use the oven, some don't.

Plasticine CANNOT be baked, and as long as it's taken care of can be reused over and over again.

Makin' clay is another option, as it will air dry (though I'm not sure if it's as sturdy once cured as polymers are)

If you have any questions about polymer clay, just pm me.
Also I have some Lightning Press books, that have different characters to build that I've been wanting to get rid of. If you are interested let me know,
I'd let you have them for $2/book + postage.

Noadi
11-30-2006, 02:53 AM