PDA

View Full Version : Canon S3 for Pet Photography?

darlingart
11-27-2006, 06:37 AM
Hello

This is my first venture into this forum, and I was hoping to get some advice as to whether my Canon S3 is suitable for Pet Photography on a semi professional level - on site (client's home/park/beach etc) rather than in studio. And if it is, what additional equipment am I likely to need?

I am actually a pet portrait artist and I am currently contemplating expaning my busines to include pet photography - initially at least it would be for reference materials for commissioned artwork, but I am thinking along the lines of doing a one or two hour photo shoot, and for $80 or so, giving the client a disk of all the photos plus one or two prints (I would probably retain copyright for my artwork and/or prints, so wouldn't mind charging less, but enough to cover my time). I do love photography and would like to get into it on a more professional level in the future, but I need a lot of experience first, and this is one way to get it!

Any comments and/or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Michelle

Windy
11-27-2006, 08:33 PM
You could get some nice images out of it I am sure.
As far as providing images for the client. You do not ever give up copyright to your images. You sell them the right to use the images in a limited way. (you do not want them appearing in print attributed to someone who has not taken them). Make sure you have a contract in place which the client signs which clearly states what they can use the images for. Do not ever undersell yourself (even when you are starting out). If you have a good product then the clients will pay.
Have a chat to meriadoc, she does pet photography.

darlingart
11-28-2006, 10:08 AM
Thanks Wendy!

I know the whole thing about undercharging is true, I think it is that whole insecure artist thing, LOL or maybe its just that not having a $2000 camera makes it harder to justify a higher fee!

Michelle

Windy
11-28-2006, 05:14 PM