PDA

View Full Version : Pastel Portrait Challenge

bruce johnson
11-16-2006, 08:46 PM
Hi Everyone, I've just done a pastel portait WIP ... and it seemed to go quite well. I've been asked if I'd do a lesson/project for all to participate. Basically you all paint and I critique your portrait as you go...

What I would like to know is:

How many artists would be interested,

Would you prefer to paint the same ref, or paint from a ref of your own choice.. there are benefits to both ..

Is the format better as a sticky or a project

Any other comments that may be important to the process, I've never done this before...

Cheers Bruce :thumbsup:

Netty
11-16-2006, 08:56 PM
Hi Bruce,
Well I am very interested at doing this.... maybe if we have enough people interested we could all do the same portrait, then after we have had you critique our work we could all do a portrait of our own selection..... to be critiqued as well......

just an idea.

looking forwards to this !!!!!

Netty

Sunflwr1
11-16-2006, 08:57 PM
Hi Bruce!

Obviously I'm interested... count me in!

I'm thinking the same reference... I think that would be easier for you, but I'm game for whatever the majority wants.

Sticky or Project? Don't know...

I'll be staying tuned!
Marcia

bruce johnson
11-16-2006, 09:11 PM
Wow!! You guys are quick... That's two... :clap:

Netty I like the idea of doing the same ref to start with.. then another where everyone chooses their own... I know there are artists lurking out there with a favorite portrait they would love to paint but have been unsure as to how to start...

I'm a little light on ref material so if participants could post likely images, I could choose a suitable one.. I'd look for something with nice sunny outdoor lighting, and a real challenge for the hair... and with high resolution..:thumbsup:

DAK723
11-16-2006, 09:33 PM