PDA

View Full Version : Lightfastness of Pastels

NancyPH
11-13-2006, 04:51 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to pastels and I was wondering if anyone knows of a lightfast chart I can get that covers all (or as many as possible) the pastel brands? I would really like to be able to find out about the lightfastness of the different brands without having to go to each brand's website. Anyone know anything about this??

Thanks!

chewie
11-13-2006, 05:05 PM
yeah, the more $$, the more lightfast!!

really tho., dont' know of such a thing, seems some put a code on the wrappers, some on the color charts. but i also just buy the top brands and not worry about it.

HarvestMoon
11-13-2006, 05:15 PM
avoid the nupastels, and the reds LOL....

DAK723
11-13-2006, 09:37 PM
You might want to search the forums. There have been a number of threads about this. Also search the web in general. There are some good pastel resources out there. I have been to a number of websites, but information is scarce. The rembrandt site has a colour chart with lightfastness ratings. A few of the reds and violets are listed as only 10-25 years, about 1/3 of the colors are listed as 25-100 years. The remaining 155 colors are listed at 100+ years. All these years are under "museum" conditions, of course!

In general, the higher priced supplies are better. Professional grade are better than student grade. Sometimes that can be confusing as well. Some art supply stores catagorize Nupastels as student grade, others list it as professional grade.

Personally, I think too much concern exists about lightfastness. The key, it seems to me, is not what supplies you use - but to frame your work under glass and keep it out of direct sunlight. I have pastels done 20 to 30 years ago that have not faded at all. I have a watercolor done 30 years ago - done with the cheapest possible craft store watercolor pan set - that has been framed under glass all these years with no fading.