PDA

View Full Version : is Plagiarism defined?

vertigo340
11-03-2006, 02:51 AM
Not sure if this is the correct forum but as a beginner i have been pondering the principal of a painting "style". I have been copying some of the old masters art pieces and tried to reproduce them. I have done this not for profit but as a learning process.
I have also completed 1 piece i got from a magazine photo and adapted it to my liking.
I would say the former would be considered plagiarism, but would using ideas or settings from published books and magazines ( not artworks) be considered the same?
Also moving forward from this if a person uses a style of say one of the old masters but paints his original compostions - would this also considered plagiarism?
I guess there is a line drawn somewhere (haha excuse the pun) but is there anything definite?

Keith2
11-03-2006, 05:58 AM
I don't think copying an artist's style is plagiarism. But if you copy one of the artists pictures, in the style of the artist, then that is plagiarism.

Does it matter ? Yes, if you intend to sell your painting or enter it in a competition. On the other hand, if you are only copying for your own enjoyment, or education, there's no problem.

Copying the work of an established painter is a common exercise if you enrol in an art class.

Enchanted
11-03-2006, 12:15 PM
Plagiarism is a term normally associated with literary/academic works. The more common term for plagiarized art work is "forgery" or copyright infringement. In any event, here is what the online Merriam Webster's says:

to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own : use (another's production) without crediting the source