PDA

View Full Version : First Steps in glazing (or in any other technique).

tumteetum
10-12-2006, 03:23 PM
I've never learnt much about technique in painting and thought it might actually help me to be less frustrated and achieve some of the things I'd like to do with painting.

So I fished around on trusty WC and stumbled on Maverick's glazing lesson 1 in the Information Kiosk http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=299276

This is my first attempt at using any kind of disciplined approach or technique with acrylic paint (not being accomplished in any other medium either however!)

I'm so glad Maverick's lesson included underpainting stages as well as glazing - it helped me so much. I think I just learnt more about painting in the last 48 hours doing this lesson than I ever did in 2 years of A-level art!

So here's my results on 6"x9" canvas board. Pictures of:
1) initial drawing on board,
2) first glaze
3) semi worked
4) and finally can't-do-anymore!

It's not perfect - but I've learnt tonnes already! Decided to let this one go and try again (and again and again).

Thank you Maverick!!

Perhaps technique does help after all :-)

Rachel

Southafricannovice
10-12-2006, 05:06 PM
It's beautiful, well done on the glazing. You are a much better person than me, I couldn't study anything, 2 much like school. I use stuff that I buy at the art shop, if it works yeah:clap: , if it don't then I do old school again:D

cookiem
10-12-2006, 07:41 PM
Nice work at the glazing! Can't wait to see the next one. :D

I also really liked your brush stroking in the background :thumbsup:

Cath

gingery
10-13-2006, 12:38 AM
Beautiful job!:thumbsup: I really like the third photo!:clap:
ginger

tumteetum
10-13-2006, 06:24 AM
Thanks for the compliments :)