PDA

View Full Version : Erasing With Pastels - NEED HELP

DreamDog
10-05-2006, 05:16 PM
Hi!! :wave:

I am an oil painter trying out pastels for the first time :eek: and I am having a few issues to say the least.

I have a set of the soft pastel pencils made by Gioconda.

I am wondering if it is possible to erase with pastels??? I have tried using a Mars eraser that I use with graphite drawings but the eraser is not working well with the pastels. The whole thing is sort of a huge mess as I have needed to correct proportions etc. and have tried erasing. Maybe it is more of a surface problem as I am working on a gessoed piece of wood. Or do most of you just layer on top of mistakes and corrections??

Any suggestions would be very helpful and VERY much appreciated!!

banananna20032003
10-05-2006, 06:17 PM
Some time ago I took some lessons in pastels and learned that there is a product which is basically "canned air." You attach a long, narrow tube to the nozzle, and then direct the air to the area that you want to remove. The pastels are then "blowen off" leaving you with a clean area in which to begin again. Pastels cannot be "erased" as you have seen, with a traditional eraser.

Hope this has helped.

Marie

KJSCL
10-05-2006, 06:22 PM
For me, how I correct a mistake depends on what it is, where it is and how big it is. Here are some corrections to try if you don't think you can correct the error by painting over it.

Try a kneaded eraser instead of a Mars. Dab at it instead of scrubbing.
Try a can of compressed air, although if you've already tried erasing it, the problem area is probably already compacted into the gesso and won't blow off. (do this one outside or in an area where you won't breathe in the loosened (sp?) dust.
Try using a bristle paint brush to brush the error off. This works well on larger area corrections.
To correct in small spaces try a clicker eraser.