PDA

View Full Version : Mixing paints

GregS
10-02-2006, 01:01 PM
I am fairly new to art in general and painting in particular. I've spent the last couple of years practicing drawing and I'm now excited to make a foray into the world of painting. I've experimented with gel media, washes etc, but I still find that I've having difficulty with (at least) two aspects of mixing colors. First, I find that I'm wasting a lot of paint because I'm either mixing way too much of a particular color for my need or, the need is very, very small and it would be impossible to mix, say, 1/2 gram of paint with any kind of control over the color I want. Do you folks find that you are sending a great deal of unused paint down the drain?

Another aspect is that if I mix too little of a color I can never duplicate the shade or tint I'm after. I'm also concerned that I'm working too slow and that my colors are going to become permanent adjuncts to my pallette and that because the bristles become caked with paint that my brushes will become usable as darts. I try to be very conscientious about soaking brushes I'm not using in water, but I find that going from the easel to the sink so frequently is disrupting my work flow to the point that it is distracting.

Any tips on paint mixing and/or working habits that will address my issues?

Thanks

Greg S
Cleveland, OH USA

timelady
10-02-2006, 01:09 PM
Part of it does come with practice... but for the water part, why are you going to the sink frequently? I have 2 large pots of water, one for really dirty brushes, then transfer to the cleaner pot. I usually don't change the water at all in a day's session. Perhaps try some larger jars/pots for your water and have 2 or even 3 - always put brush in the dirtiest water first to get as much paint off as possible, then bung in the last pot until you need it. :)