PDA

View Full Version : Which of these should I buy

bruce johnson
09-28-2006, 03:35 AM
Hi guys

I'm new to pastels and about to break out and buy some loose pastel sticks to use for portrait work. At my local art shop they sell Schminke, Rembrandt, W & N, Art Spectrum and I think Holbein pastels. I want to buy the best quality available. At the moment I'm leaning towards Schminke because I use that brand for my watercolours. Are all these brands about the same as far as pigment content and workability. Schminke is the dearest per stick.
Any tips on what paper is good for portraits would be appreciated as well. I have seen some paper that looks like coloured sandpaper, is that good.

:thumbsup: Cheers Bruce

Tressa
09-28-2006, 08:24 AM
oh boy Bruce...a big question.... Schminkes are very soft...most looking to get into pastels are given the suggestion to look at www.dakotaart.com (http://www.dakotaart.com) they have a sample set with different brands you can try. No one can determine what kind you need but you, I know, that sounds silly, but true. They all have different properties. Also if you go to dakotas website they have a rating on the hard/soft of the various brands. As to the quality of the brands you mention, they are all good, just vary in hardness, and this WILL affect how you use them. Does your art shop sell individual sticks? That would be good also,to get a few of the brands and try. My paper preference is Wallis or Corlourfix by Art Spectrum. La Carte is ok ,but is a pain, because the slightest bit of moisture melts the surface. Portraits are also good on suede matboard, and some people on here get beautiful work off Canson papers. Lots of choices out there, you will need to do a bit of experimenting. Hope this helps,
Tres

doe
09-28-2006, 09:25 AM