PDA

View Full Version : Disposing of Acrylic Material

DesertDarlene
09-26-2006, 11:12 PM
When I was an art student, I was told to wash my acrylic paints, solvents, and water down the drain. But, I wonder if that's the right thing to do.
I know with oils, you have to dispose of them properly and carefully, but what about acylics?

I was wondering what everyone else does with their left over acrylic paint, rags, rinse water, and solvents when they're done with them. I especially want to hear from people who live with a closed water system, such as a septic tank and a well.

What is the best environmentally friendly way to dispose of your materials?

Thanks.:wave:

dreamz
09-27-2006, 12:38 AM
I generally just wash out in the sink but with a septic tank that might be a problem. Perhaps a back patio or driveway could be used to pour out the containers.. the water evaporates and after a while you would have an abstract kind of thing going on

DesertDarlene
09-27-2006, 01:13 AM
Thanks.

I usually let the water dry out and refill it. Part of the problem is that sometimes I have to rinse out a container because of some kind of contamination.

That's an interesting suggestion about throwing it onto a deck or driveway. It would definately bring color to a pale white surface. But, what if someone has a dirt driveway and a non-concrete deck?

I am partly asking these questions because I plan to move to an area (sometime in the future, hopefully sooner than later) where people sometimes have to use a closed system. The area I am most looking at has a large underwater lake and I would not want to contaminate it.

I also, currently, visit the area frequently and sometimes do my artwork there. I usually take everything out that I bring in, even when I am staying indoors.

cuttlefish
09-27-2006, 03:33 AM