PDA

View Full Version : Question: Winsor and Newton Galleria Paints

davidelliott
09-21-2006, 08:42 PM
I got a few tubes of primary colors, 2 blues, red and a yellow.

Is this cheap paint or something? I did a painting with another brand (Reeves - it was a starter set of mini-tubes)and had no problems covering the pencilled picture I put down on canvas. Now with the W&N acylics, I can see the pencils right through the paints! No matter how many coats I do, it's the same thing.

Since I'm new to this, I'm not sure if this is common with the W&N paints.

HELP! I don't wat to have to repaint the whole picture again and I hope I didn't waste my money on these 4 tubes of paint.

TIA, David

Lady Carol
09-21-2006, 10:21 PM
W&N Galleria are student grade paints and therefore they will not have the pigment load of W&N Finity. W&N Finity are the artist quality.

Although having said that some colours are transparent and will show the pencil marks, thus several layers of colour may be required to cover the lines.

dreamz
09-22-2006, 02:02 AM
read the back if they are transparent it doesnt matter what quality they are they wont cover the pencil lines w/o adding some white

LisaArt
09-22-2006, 03:04 AM
Hi...David...I use W&N galleria too sometimes...for under and thick coats and I always mix with some white to make it more opaque....as Dreamz said ...add a little white to the paint and cover and then do a second coat (wash) with the colour you want...without the white...

even the more expensive brand do not always cover the pencil lines entirely (if heavy) for a thin coat.

WaltWally
09-22-2006, 03:05 AM
As a professional cartoonist, I recommend, on future paintings, paint your black linework w/black acrylic. When it is COMPLETELY dry, erase your pencil lines with an art gum or vinyl eraser, making sure you brush off all the eraser crumbs. Then you may use opaque OR transparent paints.

davidelliott
09-22-2006, 04:54 AM
Thanks for al the replies and input!!