PDA

View Full Version : Gouache book?

cat1lady
09-20-2006, 10:22 PM
Hi, I'm new to WetCanvas but have been lurking around for a little while.
Last week I made some watercolor journals in the hopes that I can sketch or paint something every day. So far, so good. I started with the idea of using watercolor and/or pen, but after looking at many of the journal sketch blogs out there I thought that I would give gouache a try as well. I do watercolor, not as well as I would like, but I try. My grandfather who was a commercial artist, used gouache so that is the medium I was used to seeing. But I kind of thought that gouache was like poster paint and not taken seriously. I'm glad to see it is still around and seems to be making a come-back. I recently purchased white, black, red, yellow and blue qouache. I wanted to limit myself until I could see how it worked. I really enjoy working with it so I want to buy just a few more colors that I can't really make by mixing. I made myself a small pallet for my gouache from an Altoids can and pans made out of polymer clay coated with floor acrylic. I posted the instruction on anther thread, I think it was in one of the watercolor learning sites. I couldn't figure out the best spot for it. Anywho, I've been looking around for books on using gouache and don't seem to be having any luck. Does anyone have any suggetions on books or websites or other areas of instruction. Thanks:wave:

meglyman
09-21-2006, 08:38 AM
cat1lady,

I found a book at my library that was helpful. It's limited to one artist's style, but still the only book I've found that's dedicated to gouache techniques:

"Painting in gouache" by Monahan, Patricia
Publisher: Studio Vista, 1993
ISBN: 0289800803

Meg

pinkrybns
09-21-2006, 09:38 AM
cat1lady,

I found a book at my library that was helpful. It's limited to one artist's style, but still the only book I've found that's dedicated to gouache techniques:

"Painting in gouache" by Monahan, Patricia