PDA

View Full Version : ebay gallery pic problem

svrart
03-23-2002, 04:10 PM
Hi,

I have been selling on ebay for about 2 months now.

One of my problems is a very poor quality gallery image that ebay produces. The jpg looks good in the original size and looks quite acceptable during preview (just before you submit the sale). But when it comes up at the actual listing it looks bad. My paintings have a lot of black in them with only color outlines. Is there any thing I can do to solve this?

Thanks,
Sridhar

PS. If you want to look at the gallery images, you can do a search for svrart in Self Representing Artists. I am also attaching a thumbnail to show the amount of black in my paintings.

CarlyHardy
03-23-2002, 04:22 PM
Sridhar,
#1 you shouldn't rely completely on the ebay images to show off your artwork. Use an image hosting service and then add the link html into your description so that you will have another source for your images.

#2 you might try creating a white border around your artwork and then a thin black border to set off the darker image in the center. Just say in your description that the image is whatever size without mat or frame. If its a canvas painting, then just tell the size of the canvas.

#3 Be sure you always use a white background when you take a pic of your image if you use a digital camera. Other dark colors around a dark painting can create an even darker image.

carly

hairballsdotcom
03-23-2002, 07:08 PM
When I started out, I used the same picture for the gallery as I used for the auction page. I agree the quality is often not very good.