PDA

View Full Version : Fun in the sun

garyphotopaul
09-19-2006, 08:08 PM
This is from a photo I took on holidays last summer. Acrylic on canvas, 20 x 24". I need to learn how to layer better as impatience does tend to just create....mud!

The street scene has lots of perspective problems but first time I had tried something like that so lots of learning.
Appreciate any thoughts. I said in my other posting I am very new to painting so comments or critics welcome.

g.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Sep-2006/89748-Maui_back_of_Sheraton.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Sep-2006/89748-Street_scene.jpg

Margaret 59
09-19-2006, 08:50 PM
A hairdryer is good for speeding up drying time.
Looks as though you're doing fine. I like the street scene a lot and would have thought that would be hard going.

Lady Carol
09-19-2006, 10:31 PM
Nice work. Patience is a must for not creating mud. BTW, I don't see any mud here.

valchina612
09-20-2006, 10:54 AM
I really like both of these paintings very much. The sand in the first one is so real that I feel I could wiggle my toes in it, and the Street Scene is great. Well done with both paintings. :clap: :clap: :thumbsup:

Val. :wave:

TxAggieDarlin
09-20-2006, 11:19 AM
These are both very nice and I would not even tackle that street scene and you did it beautifully. I love the beach scene but I love the water. My ONLY comment on this one is the beach itself in the foreground and you need someone with more knowledge than I have. But it seems like the beach is going downhill. I think it should be going horizontal and to the left/right. It is such a beautiful scene and I want to try something like this....:thumbsup:

Jon
09-20-2006, 11:40 AM
Nice feel to both!
I agree about the sand going downhill on the first...perhaps if you changed the direction of the darker strokes to upper left moving downward to the lower right.

garyphotopaul
09-20-2006, 02:39 PM