PDA

View Full Version : Hello, can I please get some advice?

TxAggieDarlin
09-16-2006, 10:50 AM
I usually hang out at digital but from time to time, I try acrylics. I think digital has taught me some things but I have a long way to go.

I recently painted this (teaching of Jerry Yarnell) and when I sketched it...I ended up w/ more wall space over on the left. I think I need to put something there, but want an expert opinion [you guys are it].

And, if you think yes, do you have a suggestion as to what I might put there?
I thought of a tree limb, but I am not realy good at trees:D

I appreciate any suggestions you might have....

Thanks

3chaway9
09-16-2006, 11:08 AM
Hi Aggie :wave: ...this is very charming painting as it is IMO...and i think with all the texture marks on the L/ it's enough...i'm no expert (far from it) but i thought i'd comment anyway...did you enjoy painting with acrylics?

TxAggieDarlin
09-16-2006, 12:15 PM
Thanks, Chaway...
I really did enjoy it, but it scares me. I cannot tell you how long it sat on my easel with sort of the blocked in done....With digital if I mess up, it does not seem to bother me, but with this, I get uptight. I love it if I can make myself go sit down and paint. I think of nothing else...great for the brain lol

jeff m
09-16-2006, 12:18 PM
To negate your space on the left you could use a wall sconce, just make sure to keep it light and it does not become "the subject".
Put it closeish to the door, you dont need to fill the space just balance it.

And a doorhandle, for some reason doorhandles just seem to improve doors.

Nicely done wall.

TxAggieDarlin
09-16-2006, 12:41 PM
Thanks Jeff, did not think of something like that...like maybe with small ivy or just plain..maybe wooden on/or concrete?

Roger Evans
09-16-2006, 12:59 PM
I usually hang out at digital but from time to time, I try acrylics. I think digital has taught me some things but I have a long way to go.