PDA

View Full Version : Photographing work

Leslie Ann
09-15-2006, 08:47 PM
Hi all.

I am relatively new to all of this. I am learning that to get by, one really needs to have alot of computer and camera saavy. I have neither.

I need to photograph my work, but I am not sure how to do it. I don't have the money to pay someone else, and I have a cheap automatic digital camera (3 megapixes).

Could someone offer advice on how to light the work? Should it be flat on a wall, or on an easel? Inside or out? (Before or after a cup of coffee?) etc.?

Also, do you need to have software like photoshop to get it to look right?

Are there any books that may help me with all of this? Seriously, I am lost.

Help!

Leslie Ann :confused:

DesertDarlene
09-15-2006, 09:59 PM
I've actually found two great books: Photographing your artwork by Russell Hart and The quick & easy guide to photographing your artwork by Roger Saddington.

Both books talk about digital photography a little, but they mostly deal with film (which is what I use to photograph mine). It does, however, talk about how to position your painting and aim your camera. I found both books at my library.

I use a film camera and I have to use a filter on it. I use two halogen floodlamps and the filter helps balance the color. You may not have to do that with a digital camera. I feel the lighting is better with the lamps rather than outdoors. Also, most of my photos come out better with the painting mounted flush on the wall. You also have to make sure it's level.

It takes a little practice to do it right.

A photo editing program is a must, but you don't have to buy an expensive one. I got Gimp and Photo Express for free and they do a good job with cropping and minor color corrections.

Good Luck!

damar
09-15-2006, 11:25 PM
Desert gave you some good tips that apply to both film and digital, so I'll just tell you that your camera is quite adequate for photographing artwork.