PDA

View Full Version : newbie needs C and C

craigthompson
09-15-2006, 01:53 PM
Hi all,

I am a newbie and I am looking for ways to make my paintings more professional and something to be proud of. If anyone has enough free time to bother looking at my portfolio then I wouls really appreciate C and C. be nice, but please be honest (friends try their best but I always feel they're not distanced enough to be truthful) I have attached one image for those who dont like to travel too far from WC.

Thank you all in advance

Craig

http://www.art.com/memberartist/Craig_Thompson

Southafricannovice
09-15-2006, 03:08 PM
Hi mate,

I am no expert so I can just give you the advice that I think. I love your style personally. The abillity to take something ordinary like a tap or vase and make it into an artwork is quite something. I personally love your photography and then the attached thumbnail of the vase is brilliant, I love the roughness and the boldness of the colors.

As I said, not a great help with getting your work to look more professional but I do like what I see. Welcome to WC!
:wave:

3chaway9
09-15-2006, 03:18 PM
Hi Craig :wave: ...welcome to WC and the acrylic forum...i had a look at your paintings in your portfolio...and they are all fine...very nice....what specifically do you want help with?
This is your style and it's how you paint...:wave:

Keith2
09-15-2006, 03:50 PM
Ii don't think the subject matter is interesting to the viewer. Cropping out the top of the plant in the jar makes the picture unconventional, but visually it's unsatisfying. The composition seems too weighted to the left.

On the other hand the colours and brushwork are bold and confident.

I think the other pictures in your portfolio are much better.

Lady Carol
09-16-2006, 09:04 PM