PDA

View Full Version : Ideal set for a beginner to maybe sell work too though

junipaire
09-08-2006, 01:53 PM
Hi I'm a digital artist but now want to also experiment with acrylic painting and do some pop art canvases . I want to be able to sell hopefully these works so basically don't want to buy paints that are of not such quality however with not having painting traditionally since school I don't want to jump in at the deep end.

Basically looking for what paints people here paint with and what type brushes, I also want to know what canvases people use please.

If you would be so kind to help me , I have 120, yes I'm from the UK so I guess the manufacturers of USA paints may differ I dunno. if someone could tell me what best ways of spending the 120 would be in what paints , what brushes and how many, if an on desk easel would be OK or one that goes on the ground, I guess the size of canvas I want to be painting will be around 40 inch by 40 inch. what make of canvas do people use. And what else I will need

Really appreciate any advise anyone could give, being thinking about this for ages but finally feel like experimenting.

Cheers
Phil

timelady
09-08-2006, 02:09 PM
Phil - have a look at Great Art for canvases, they have very good prices and also occassional sales (they have some of the gallery wrapped ones on sale, can't remember the brand but think it started with an H). For paints Winsor & Newton is a good brand at decent price of artist quality. I don't know how prices compare to supplier to supplier tho as I don't use W&N so check out www.greatart.co.uk, www.jacksonsart.co.uk, and Atlantis at atlantisart.co.uk

Tina.

Einion
09-08-2006, 02:24 PM