PDA

View Full Version : Do memory cards wear out?

Dreamin
09-07-2006, 07:39 AM
I have been using the same SD card for several years. I upload my images to my PC and use it again and again.....do they wear out? or start recording poorer quality images? Just wondering...I feel like my camera does not take as nice a picture as it used to, and was wondering if it could be the SD card?

damar
09-07-2006, 07:46 AM
SD cards can wear down because they have metalic contacts. They can also go "corrupt". When they go, they go, they don't render lower quality images first. For that, you may want to check the image quality setting on your camera.
Always a good idea to have an extra card.

Dreamin
09-07-2006, 09:49 AM
Thank you, damar. I will try a new card, to see if it helps. What I really need is a new camera! Saving my money for one!

damar
09-07-2006, 09:52 AM
Your camera may have several quality settings and that may be why your photos don't look "like they used to". (settings got changed)
Camera may need cleaning too.
I hear ya about saving up for a new one! Best wishes!

Oldthumbs
09-07-2006, 10:54 AM
Damar is correct. All flash memory type cards wear out eventually, but it takes a LOT of normal use for that to happen. These are solid-state devices with memory locations that are written, erased, and written again. All this activity DOES eventually wear out the card but you will find that the rated life is usually a million read/write cycles or so. That's way more than most people will ever use a card. Of course, this assumes a card without any manufacturing defects.

Also, either a memory location is written to, or it is not - it's an all or nothing situation. If it can't write to a location, it finds another location to write to. It does not record poorer image quality - it either records or not - period.