PDA

View Full Version : NYC Window

plnice
03-19-2002, 09:08 PM
Hi, everyone! This is my (GULP) first post.....and I could use honest criticism---what works, what doesn't. Taken from a photo of window near the Chelsea piers, this is my first attempt at stippling. I have to miss my drawing class tomorrow night, and don't think I can wait another week for comments. Hope the scan is OK. Looking forward to input from all you great folks! --Pam

sassybird
03-19-2002, 10:03 PM
You show good skill and talent, and I am very happy to welcome you to Wetcanvas and to the Pen and Ink forum. We have a good group of people in this forum and at WC in general. Even as a seasoned artist I continue to learn and grow through my contact with other artists here. I hope your experience will be as rewarding, and that you never hesitate to post your work. Now, on to my critique :evil: :angel:

You have done a good job on this piece. There are only a few places that I see could use some improvement. The shadow by the bucket I would make a bit stronger. Not as strong as the shading on the bucket near the wall, but stronger than the mid range value on the bucket. The stacked papers almost appear to be floating. If you add some shadow to ground them to the table I think that would work well. I am not quite sure what it is haning in the window, but the value is about the same across the board on it. If you vary the value a bit I think it will be more effective. Over all this is a very good composition and you have a good handle on the ink work. Pointilism takes so much patiences, I know I do a fair amount myself, and the time and attention to detail you show in this piece leads me to believe you have the tenacity for this technique.

Now, I have been out of classes for about 2 yrs now, but I remember how harsh some of the critiques can be. Remember to take in the good advice, and let the rest go in one ear and out the other.

dolors
03-20-2002, 01:12 AM