PDA

View Full Version : 35mm Camera for Class?

k7on
08-17-2006, 11:10 AM
Hello,

I am new to Wet Canvas and would like to introduce myself.

My name is Brian and I live in Snowflake, AZ.

On Monday I will begin photography classes through a local community college. For one of the classes, a 35mm camera is required for taking some black and white photos.

I have been interested in photography for some time, though for I have been using a digital camera recently. I still have my old Canon A-1, but I was wondering what camera might be best for such a class? Any suggestions?

My classes are Beginning Photography (a prerequisite for almost everything) and Photography as an Art Medium. I have done some black and white developing/printing in the past, but it was years ago and done informally.

Brian

tomreese
08-17-2006, 11:28 AM
Hi Brian,

I'm not sure what type of digital camera you're using now. If it's a single lens reflex with detachable lenses then I think you should look for a film body that will accept the same lenses.

If you don't have a digital SLR then I think you should check your AE-1 and use it if:

the shutter speeds are still accurate

the lens (lenses?) are clear and clean and the diaphragm works the way it should

it doesn't have any light leaks or other mechanical issues.

You might want to shoot a test roll and see if the camera is still usable.

If you can't use your AE-1, then I don't think you should spend a lot of money on a film body unless you'll continue to shoot film after you finish your classes. You can pick up a used film body from KEH.com that will meet your needs quite nicely. You should probably choose either Canon EOS or a newer model Nikon so any lenses you buy can be used with a digital SLR that you may decide to buy later.

I hope this helps.

Tom

k7on
08-17-2006, 11:41 AM
Thanks, Tom.

I have a Nikon 5700 digital (non-SLR), but it requires repair (again). My other digital is an older, simple Sony (also non-SLR).