PDA

View Full Version : Buying a new camera...

bluegypsy
08-01-2006, 06:37 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm Janice, a 40 something mom of 3 teens, and I'm just now getting back into my lifelong love of photography and art. I want to concentrate on taking pictures for greeting cards, posters, etc, as well as stock agencies, but I'd also like to do photo stories for publication and/or private commission. I do have some business background, but since I'm just starting out, and don't have a lot of money to put out yet, I'm wondering if I can run a business with my Canon AE-1 35 mm, a Canon Sureshot compact, and a good compact digital, like maybe a Nikon 7600, or other similar camera?(I have a 3.1mp HP, but, I'm looking for another one). I know I probably should invest in a D-SLR eventually, but for what I'm doing, I find I can get very good quality from what I already have, plus Paint Shop Pro X, and outsource printing. Does anyone else have any suggestions, or advice to give a new photographer looking to buy something that would make this thing work well at this point? Thanks so much...Janice

tomreese
08-01-2006, 07:10 PM
Hi Janice,

I've heard that very few stock agencies accept 35mm stuff anymore. If you want to sell your stuff through them then you'll probably need high quality digital files. You could probably find out who accepts what and their resolution requirements through a couple google searches. I suppose you could conceivably shoot 35mm then scan the results but that's pretty time consuming.

I can't help you too much with your other questions.

I hope this helps at least a little.

Tom

DesertDarlene
08-01-2006, 08:04 PM