PDA

View Full Version : A Tone/Value Management workshop with Bill Martin

WFMartin
07-30-2006, 11:02 PM
TONES (VALUES), AND THEIR APPLICATION IN THE PAINTING OF FINE ART

WFMartin (Bill)

MY BACKGROUND

Everything we see in our daily lives has three dimensions. We artists—the painters and drawers, at least—are very often called upon to express a three-dimensional subject by placing paint upon canvas in only two dimensions. That is where a knowledge of tones is necessary, and I’m devoting this workshop to the practical knowledge and application of values—the lights, the darks, and everything in between.

I cannot lay claim to as many art credentials as some on this site, but I do have quite an extensive background in related subjects, whose applications quite easily transfer over to the fine arts field. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in industrial education. I taught a graphic arts high school course for one year, after which I entered the lithographic trade, where I quickly gravitated to that of a color separator. In those days the job classification was that of “color cameraman”, and the job was that of photographically separating pieces of art copy and fine art into four printing films, each of which produced a plate for 4-color process printing, using cyan, magenta, yellow, and black inks..