PDA

View Full Version : Bee & FLower...scratchboard WIP

Bertoni
07-24-2006, 01:39 PM
This is a xpost from pen/ink forum.
This is the first step in a WIP experiment where I'll include color and india ink.
Haven't done any color in my scratchboard etchings till now. So will post the next step here soon. C&C. http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-Jul-2006/28168-Bee_Flower_Scratchboard_WIP.jpg

Mary Woodul
07-24-2006, 03:00 PM
Bertoni, this is so beautiful that I thought it was finished. I like the format, too!

Bertoni
07-24-2006, 04:33 PM
Mary:
I started adding color and so far don't know if I like it...glad you liked the black and white. I'll work on it some more and hopefully bring it back to where I'll be happy with it. Color isn't easy with scratchboard, but I'm learning!!!

Bertoni
07-24-2006, 06:23 PM
Here's the color version. I didn't go overboard with color since it's my first try with color in scratchbd. My next one will be on white Claybord and will have a lot of color together with india ink!http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-Jul-2006/28168-Bee__Flower_finish.jpg

Mary Woodul
07-24-2006, 07:10 PM
It looks nice Bertoni, you have such beautiful highlights. Personally I do like the black & white more but that doesn't mean that this one isn't stunning either. Both are beautiful pieces.:)

Bertoni
07-24-2006, 08:23 PM
Thanks Mary! I know what you mean...the color versus the black and white on this one! I like the b&w best myself, but it is my first stab at color with scratchboard. :)

gingery
07-24-2006, 09:04 PM
I'm glad you tried the colour, & sometimes it works to just add colour to one element of the work. This is a great work!:clap: You just keep on getting better! :thumbsup: My hat is off to you, as this must take the patience of a saint.:cool:
ginger

mhimeswc
07-24-2006, 10:01 PM
Although I like the color one, I think the black and white is more striking. Nice composition!

Michelle

Bertoni
07-24-2006, 10:02 PM
Ginger: