PDA

View Full Version : Breaking beads

cindyhoo
07-20-2006, 12:57 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Lampwork world and have only 30 hours or so into it. I've recently purchased my tools including Minor burner, Propane, Oxygen concentrator and Kiln. I've made 50 or so beads using Morreti glass with half of my batch breaking when I'm removing them from the mandrel or cleaning them. They are clean breaks mostly breaking in half or three pieces. They are kiln annealed at 950 degrees for approx. 3 1/2 to 4 hours. What am I doing wrong?

Help!!!

Cindy Hoo

MaryBethC
07-20-2006, 01:24 PM
Hi Cindy,
Can you post your full annealing schedule - it would be easier to see what the problem is:)

If you are just soaking your beads at 950 but never slowly ramping down your temperature then that would be your problem.

maleka
07-20-2006, 01:32 PM
Hi,
I've had the same problem in the beginning. I found out that it was not an annealing problem. (I still don't have a kiln). But one moment I saw, my beadseparator was not sticking to the mandrel. Since I changed the separator, none of my beads are broken.
Which separator are you using?

Elke

trappedinabead
07-20-2006, 05:22 PM