PDA

View Full Version : approached for a showing

crazymommy4
07-13-2006, 04:55 PM
Hi, i was approached to do a showing. I have never done this before. I'm wondering if anyone has some advice to protect myself and the photo's. I have read some things about presenting them. Do photo's always have to be matted and framed is there another way? How much commission is too much? Any advice would be helpful. Thank you

Paula:wave:

Windy
07-13-2006, 05:57 PM
I cant help you but there are quite a few people who have had showings so I hope you get some good tips :D Congrats btw!

crazymommy4
07-13-2006, 10:38 PM
Thank you Wendy:wave:
Paula

Rich
07-13-2006, 10:57 PM
Paula, check into shrink wrapping and then put a stick on hanger on the back.

Good luck!

xtx
07-14-2006, 08:37 AM
I have had a number of these and the starting point is discussing with the gallery etc what they require and what charges they will make. I have had some that require framing and others that the display is done anyway I wish. There are no hard and fast rules other than the person with the space has the final say, if u dont like it then they may find someone else. The are very few artist of any media that can demand that it is done "their way" of course the artist can always say NO. As for the commission unfortunatly some have set percentages and the artist needs to think how well attended the showing will be and if the people attending will be the right sort! ie those that will buy or even those that will offer commisions . To have the right contacts and guest list is essential for it to be finacially rewarding and if the person has these it may be worth paying the extra commission. Or of course you can do it for the pleasure and kudos of having had a showing. Not too helpful I know but I tend to go with gut feeling lol

Rob

Rich
07-14-2006, 11:38 AM
Good advice from Rob...always check with the gallery to see what they require.

DesertDarlene
07-14-2006, 12:46 PM