PDA

View Full Version : Listed artists

El_Elegante
03-11-2002, 11:06 PM
I am still mulling about debating on the merits of selling some older work at ebay. If I do sell my work, I don't plan on using the "self representing artists" section. Seems people get less there. although maybe the odds are better. any thoughts on whether it is better to list in the general or self rep sections?

my main question however is this. I have noticed that allot of people on ebay use the term "Listed artist" meaning typically that the artist is listed in Davenports Who's Who in American art, The artists bluebook, or one of several publications on past or contemporary art. by some bizarre, twisted act of fate, I am a listed artist, which I find quite amusing as I have only sold about 30 paintings, and only about 5 major works, and have never shown in a major gallery. But regardless, I am a listed artist. So my question is, if I try to sell my work on ebay, would it be cheezy to call myself that??? Would it help get a better price for my work? anyone have experience re this type of thing?

CarlyHardy
03-11-2002, 11:14 PM
I don't consider it cheesy! If you're listed....then let buyers know!

I get just as many hits whether I list in the Self-Rep category or in the Painting/1950-now/American. But as I mentioned elsewhere, I list paintings in one or the other, since buyers will click on the link to see all my work if they're interested....and this catches buyers in both categories.

There is a new movement on to create a List of Self-Rep Artists which is e-business related. I already qualify!...so soon I'll be "listed" as SRA on the 'net'.

carly

Sumafra
03-12-2002, 01:24 AM
Carly, can you explain how you qualified to be listed as SRA on the net??? :confused:

CarlyHardy
03-17-2002, 01:03 AM
Sumafra....I can't give out all the details yet, but a group is working to create a Self-Representing Artist List for collectors seeking art online thru auctions and direct sales.