PDA

View Full Version : "At Leo's Restaurant"...a scratchboard

Bertoni
06-21-2006, 11:33 PM
This is a 5 1/2 x 7 scratchboard engraving done some time ago. Am trying now to get back into the groove with this form of art!
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Jun-2006/28168-kitty_at_Leos0001.jpg

howyadoin
06-22-2006, 03:28 AM
That's got a great feel to it. Looks a bit like folk art, if that makes any sense.

Bertoni
06-22-2006, 04:11 AM
howyadoin:
That makes sense to me since I studied American folk art extensively and have many books on the subject!!! I see where this one has a folk arty feel to it!

Mary Woodul
06-22-2006, 06:28 AM
Enachanting Bertoni! It also reminds me a little of the of one of the French Impressionists.

Bertoni
06-22-2006, 07:31 AM
Thanks M! French Impressionistic! Great comment!!!!!!!!!!WOW!
I did the sketch of this one while sitting with her at the table. Then decided use the sketch in a scratchboard etching.:)

howyadoin
06-22-2006, 08:45 PM
howyadoin:
That makes sense to me since I studied American folk art extensively and have many books on the subject!!! I see where this one has a folk arty feel to it!Cool. Just wanted to make sure you didn't take that as a slam on my part. I don't know much about folk art, but I really like it, too.

Bertoni
06-22-2006, 10:05 PM
...no slam at all!!:) Didn't take it that way!

tanianault
06-23-2006, 12:36 AM
I agree with the French Impressionism comparison - the artist's name has been on the tip of my tongue all day, when, while weeding my front yard - eureka- Henri Toulouse-Lautrec!
Impressionism with a modern twist.

- Tania

Bertoni
06-23-2006, 03:25 AM
Tania:
WOW! I'll have to tell my wife, she married a modern Toulouse! ha, ha! I don't drink Absinthe :D
Thanks! I hope what I'll be scratching these days will stand up to that description.