PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on working with beeswax

cottonchipper
06-10-2006, 04:32 PM
For my latest project, I will be starting with a piece of raw (unprimed) canvas and gallery-wrapping it around a frame made of 1x2's with a piece of thin plywood paneling on the front. I will be applying dye or making markings on the canvas before wrapping it.

Once the canvas is wrapped and attached, it will be coated with beeswax. I've never worked with beeswax before, but my intent is to have it permeate the raw canvas, but allow whatever colors and markings are on the raw canvas to show through, even if slightly subdued or blurred by the beeswax.

I'm using the plywood panel as a base for the canvas to keep the weight of the beeswax from making the canvas stretch or sag. It will also allow me to iron the surface when applying the beeswax.

When I wrap the panel, should I apply glue to the panel before wrapping it, or will the beeswax do the job of making it adhere to the panel well enough. If I do glue it, what kind of glue? Elmers?

Any other hints are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. :)

idylbrush
06-11-2006, 09:58 AM
Since this is somewhat experimental it might be of value to make two small panels, say, 12X12". One glued, one not. Proceed with your process and see what happens.

Beeswax is such a delicate material, would it not be advisable, and this is out of total ignorance, to maybe check out the encaustic clear materials instead.