PDA

View Full Version : Do soft pastel techniques help with OPs?

LJW
05-31-2006, 09:40 PM
Hi everyone,

Since I have some money to spend :) I'm wondering if I would benefit from learning more about soft pastel techniques? I'm an oil painter learning how to use OPs, and I wonder if a book or DVD about soft pastels would help with the application of OPs? I have the OP book by John Elliot, but I'm not particularly taken with his landscapes, my main subject matter. I'm thinking of the book by Albert Handell, Painting the Landscape in Pastel or the book by Richard McDaniel, Plein Air Painting in Pastel. I don't intend to actually use soft pastels, due to allergies. Any suggestions for books or DVDs would be appreciated if you think they might be useful. Thanks, Jane

ColorMyWorld
05-31-2006, 10:37 PM
Jane, I don't know about those two books but I was thinking about getting one of them myself. I often buy art books in many different mediums. I find quite a bit useful in the way of concepts. And sometimes with a creative twist I can use techniques discussed in oil paint books.
I have seen several oil pastel paintings that have the look of soft pastels so my guess is that the soft pastel techniques would be helpful. If you get one of those books, let me know how it works out.

sundiver
06-01-2006, 05:51 AM
I use oil pastels pretty much like I use softies, and like you am allergic, and like to do landscapes. Soft pastel books can be helpful. The difference mainly is that it's difficult to layer lights over darkd so you have to find a strategy to defeat that, and you need more tooth (like a sanded surface)if you do a lot of layering.
You can also do a lot of things that are different than softies. Hanging out here will show you some of those things, or joining the O.P.Society.
Books I have found applicable for landscapes are any by Elizabeth Mowry or Jackie Simmonds. Probably any pastelist who does work that you like would be useful.

dds021366
06-04-2007, 03:16 PM
Hi,