PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum, my first attempts, and a ?

dragonshade
05-26-2006, 07:57 PM
Hello everyone :wave: I am a graphite artist who just recently took up trying to learn acrylics. I'm hoping to learn a lot here, and get to know you wonderful acrylic artists. In brief...I started drawing last August, and after people saw my drawings the first thing they asked me was if I could do paintings for them lol. I also wanted to do murals, so I decided to try to learn acrylic. I'm going to post my most recent graphite work in progress (just to share), and my first 2 acrylics. I really have a love of landscapes, and marine scenes especially in painting, but I want to paint everything lol. I'm wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction...is there a tutorial section here...or anything that can help me the learn how to paint trees, mountains....anything?? I know I have to start somewhere, but my real interest is/has always been realism. Thank you all, and I look forward to interacting with everyone.

Ray

current work in graphite....
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/26-May-2006/70376-Joker_for_WC.jpg

my first try at acrylics ~ 8 x 10 on canvas ~....
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/26-May-2006/70376-Daisy_on_wall_WC.jpg

my first try at a landscape...I know it has many mistakes, and I have improved a little since this, but I was proud (lol) at the time as I had never tried a landscape before in any medium, and it was done from my imagination (no ref at all) ~ about 36w x 24t on a painted wall ~.....
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/26-May-2006/70376-Landscape_full_for_WC.jpg

idylbrush
05-26-2006, 08:03 PM