GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: The Dance
Year Created: 2002
Medium: Sculpture
Surface: Other
Dimension: 13
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This sculpture is named "The Dance". It is my first attempt using Winterstone as a sculpting media.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Specifically I would like your critiques on three areas using the guidelines below for: Technique, Form and Content.

Technique
Technique is the combination of physical ability and use of tools and materials. It is the way an idea becomes reality. The sculptor must have knowledge of the media in order to know what tools to use and must know how to use the tools in order work the media, Without technique most creative ideas can never be shared since there is no way to bring them into existence.

Form
Form is the shape, the package in which the idea is presented. It is the total design. Form may be the shape of a particular subject or the shape of a non-existent subject. It may or may not be a recognizable object. Without form, there is no way for the technique to be demonstrated. Form is the physical demonstration of the elements of the design and principles of order.

Content
Content is the felling, message or importance of the sculpture. An experience with good content may literally evoke cold chills down the viewer’s back. A beautiful sunset may cause a sense of wonder at the sight. This feeling is akin to the sense of awe, of inspiration - of content – at seeing a beautiful object. A sculpture designed to show the devastation of war may lead the viewer with a queasy, terrified feeling of disgust -–of contest. Content varies, but the viewer always knows when strong contest is present, even thought her or she may not understand it. Without content, the work is a failure.

Thank You,
Yielding

bluespade
03-04-2002, 03:03 PM
Hi,

Wondeful work. I don't know anything about the technique but it appears masterful.