PDA

View Full Version : Classical Quickies

Nickel
05-02-2006, 06:38 PM
Hi and welcome to a new project in the Classical Sub-forum. Thanks for stopping by to read the opening thread. :wave:

Classical Quickies

These programs will focus at building your skill to become a better artist. Any media and all skill levels are welcomed. However, since I am an oil painter, the program is explained along these lines. Those of you who do pencil drawings, acrylic, gouache, watercolor, pastels, and color pencil are welcomed to suggest information to help others learn.

This program is 26 weeks.

It is painting from life, your set-up based on your studies of classical compositions and techniques.

Subjects for your paintings will follow the letters of the alphabet; this week will start with the letter A. The next week will proceed with the letter B. Subject choice is at your pleasure.

There is a limit of two (2 ) hours per painting start to finish.
(Excludes set-up and thinking time)

There is a limit to three (3) items per painting; at least one of the three items must match the letter of the week.
(Excludes background, table, walls, etc.)

In other words if you have one apple and one orange on one plate on a table it counts as three items plus the apple meets the program requirement of one item having the letter of the week A.

Nickel
05-02-2006, 06:40 PM
Ideas for the letter A

Aardvark
Abominable Snowman
Accountant
Acetone
Air gun
Air conditioner
Alcohol
Almanac
Altar
Ant
Apple
Apron
Antelope
Armband
Ashtray
Ass as in Donkey
Azalea

Nickel
05-02-2006, 06:41 PM
For someone wanting to learn from the very basic starting point of painting a three dimensional item and wanting to learn from the very start what colors can do try using
one cool and one warm hue plus white to start with in a limited number of value ranges.

An example of a learning palette:

burnt sienna & ultramarine & titanium white

Nickel
05-02-2006, 06:44 PM
Quotes of WC members about palette hues

RiverRat