PDA

View Full Version : Using sand

guillot
02-28-2002, 01:17 PM
Hi everyone, I have a question about a suggestion Aurorapope put on one of my threads. I've never used sand in my paint (I'm still learning, of course). Although I have seen this done in other works, I have no idea what the proper technique involves.

Can you guys please shed me some light on this subject?

As always, Thank you for your help and mentoring :angel:

Tina

arourapope
02-28-2002, 03:19 PM
I've only tried it once before, so I don't really know if I did it "right." But I just added it to my paint until I got a texture I liked. Seemed to be kind of hard on my brushes, though. I really liked to effect so I will probably do it again. Hope that helps!
Aurora

lori
02-28-2002, 05:16 PM
hi...

i work with sand and textures alot. i have always put them in the gesso layers and not in my paint.

i've never done that because i have heard that the sand and oil combo breaks down after awhile. this is because oil paint hardens when it dries and isn't maluable unlike acrylic based paint. which when you have a painting over years, there is going to be some give and take on the canvas. and that movement is needed, so the extra weight of the sand in the oil will wear the oil paint chemically down.

anyway, that is what i've heard, but never have tried it myself...it may just work fine as aurora has stated, if that is the case, just mix the sand into the pigment...no mediums though...straight paint.

anywho...sand in the gesso or acrylic medium after the gesso works really well for oil paint. in fact, you can buy mixtures already made, if you don't want to do it yourself. this of course requires the need for planning, if you only want it in certain areas, so i would recommend sketching where it should go, then applying it afterward.