PDA

View Full Version : calligraphy talk. 101 with alkline

alkline
03-29-2006, 12:45 AM
its weird. i have a theory about the internet. if you can think it, it exist on the net.
this time i said i need a calligraphy forum. and here i am.:clap:
first off ive been a dedicated calligrapher for 7 years, i havent totched a
calligraphy pen for 4 years.:lol: ive studied the art however for 13 years in total. i am a chemist, and for some time ive been trying to create a floatable ink. .:confused: . its a long story, but basically caligraphy on water. Embarking on this quest, ive had plenty of disasters.
every calligrapher knows that writing is both euphoric and fustrating. i can only wonder how our ancestral master calligraphers felt writing so often. A time before the printing press everything was done by hand. IN the world of fonts, its basically a lost art to some. or is it... (very random thoughts/\ :lol: im just excited ive found someplace for calligraphy.)
what are some of your calligraphy experiences, challenges??

I do plan on posting some of my work. and will love for you all to crtique it!!!
alot was lost due to floods but i've managed to retain some.

Merry Scribe
03-29-2006, 10:38 AM
I have been a calligrapher for about 5 years and I doing about every day. I know about 40 different hands and I am always looking for new hands. The only thing that frustrates me is that it is very difficult to find some of the tool I want. I have been looking for split nibs and I have not had any luck. If any one knows where I can get my hands on some split nibs please let me know.

Brian your friendly heighborhood scribe.:wave: :D

alkline
03-29-2006, 12:26 PM
i have a local art store near me that sells all kinds of nibs. for dip pens or fountain. i can pass by there later on and get there number for you

sabrestallion
03-29-2006, 01:30 PM
Welcome Alkline, :wave: cant wait to see your work, welcome to WC , and Brian's(merry scribe) Calligraphy forum :lol:

Merry Scribe