PDA

View Full Version : varnishing

goldie
02-22-2002, 01:23 PM
Ok now I feel like a dumbhead. I have been painting many years in acrylics and have recently switched to oils. I paint ala prima and I dont use any medium perhaps just a little turps at the start (turpenoid odorless). I leave them to dry for a few weeks. Then what do I do? Do I have to varnish. I was just popping them into frames and sending them on there merry way. Yikes.

Wayne Gaudon
02-22-2002, 01:41 PM
I'm new to oils so here is what I have uncovered on this site and in books .. if I'm wrong someone will just jump in here and correct me so you should get the appropriate answer.

If you oil your canvas or board before you begin your painting then all your oil paint should dry to a nice glossy finish and you should not need to varnish the piece within a few year period.

If you don't then some parts of your painting may dry with the oiled out or matte look. This will be corrected when you varnish the piece or if you don't plan on using varnish later, you can re-oil your canvas after the paint has had a few weeks to dry.

You should not varnish a painting for up to 6 months after painting it as it takes that long and longer for the oil paint to completely finish it's curing process.

Oiling a canvas .. add some oil to the canvas and using the palm of your hand rub it all over and into the canvas. The heat from your hand will allow it to go into the canvas. When you are done make sure you use a lint free cloth and wipe the entire surface down well to remove any excess surface oil. If you don't, after you paint on it you could experience the runs .. UGH!

Hopefully, this will get this tread rolling for you.

Later,

goldie
02-22-2002, 01:54 PM
So If you like the way it looks without a varnish...leave it alone? Also on the oiling part before you paint. What exactly do you mean by oil? I would like clarity so I do not misunderstand you. Also thank you for taking the time to reply.

goldie