PDA

View Full Version : My first painting on canvas, C&C Welcome

karma kat
03-19-2006, 12:25 AM
Hello, everyone! Sorry about the picture quality, but I don't have a digicam so I had to use my cell phone camera. I wanted to share my first painting on canvas with you all to see what you think. My mother loves hummingbirds, so she asked me to paint her some for her birthday. She really loves it, but I wanted some outsider (non-biased..lol) input since I am new to acrylics.
The painting is 16"x20" on canvas (painted sides), done with Liquitex Heavy Body acrylics, varnished with Golden Satin Varnish. I found out only after I was halfway through that Liquitex Soft Body acrylics are much better with small detail, but I managed to finish the painting in Heavy Body anyway and actually liked the texture that it gave the finished painting.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Mar-2006/76253-hummingbird-darkest.jpg
And some close-ups:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Mar-2006/76253-hummingbird-female.jpg
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Mar-2006/76253-hummingbird-male.jpg
Sorry again about the picture quality, but I was eager to show this one! :D
C&C Welcome!
Thanks for looking,
-karma kat :cat:

mrs willow
03-19-2006, 12:47 AM
Hi karma kat:wave: I think your mother will be very pleased. It is a bit difficult to assess the colours because of the darkness of the photo but they look to be a good combination of warm and cool. The humming birds look fine too.
My only nit is the flowers on the left. I think you could have made some more interesting shapes by opening up some more spaces between the flowers and leaves....also perhaps bringing the flowers further across towards the other side.
Looking forward to seeing more of your work in this forum.
Sandy

karma kat
03-19-2006, 12:57 AM